

Miami Shores Village - BUILDING DEPARTMENT 10050 NE 2 Ave Miami Shores, FL 33138 305-795-2204 www.msvfl.gov

Contractor Registration Form

BusinessNa	me:
Address:	
Phone: () E-mail:
Qualifier Na	ame: Qualifier Lic Number:
fee will be	may register license and insurance information with the Village on an annual basis. The initial \$50 with an annual update fee of \$30. Contractors that elect not to maintain their information on ed to provide their information with <u>each permit applied</u> for.
Please conf	firm if you would like to register your Contractor for a fee of \$50.
A FLORID	A STATE CERTIFIED CONTRACTOR:
A	Copy of Local Business Tax Receipt
	Copy of Qualifier State Licenses
C	Copy of Liability Insurance*
D	Copy of Workers Compensation Insurance*
	Provide proof that the contractor has secure compensation for its employees as
	required under section 105.3.5 of the 6 th edition to the 2017 F.B.C.
	(Workers Compensation FEIN EXEMPTION must have Notice to Owner form and
	Contractor Affidavit)
A <u>MIAMI</u>	DADE COUNTY CONTRACTOR:
A	Copy of Certificate of Competency of Qualifier
	Copy of Local Business Tax Receipt
C	Copy of State Registered Contractor Licenses or Miami Dade County Municipal
	Contractor's Tax Receipt.
D	Copy of Liability Insurance*
E	_ Copy of Workers Compensation Insurance*
	Provide proof that the contractor has secure compensation for its employees as
	required under section 105.3.5 of the 6 th edition to the 2017 F.B.C.
	(Workers Compensation FEIN EXEMPTION must have Notice of Owner form and
	Contractor Affidavit)

***YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY MUST ISSUE A CERTIFICATE AS FOLLOW:**

Certificate Holder:

MIAMI SHORES VILLAGE BLDG DEPT 10050 NE 2ND AVE MIAMI SHORES, FL 33138

Certificate must specify the description of operations or contractor license number.



Miami Shores Village - BUILDING DEPARTMENT 10050 NE 2 Ave Miami Shores, FL 33138 305-795-2204 www.msvfl.gov

Notice to Owner – Workers' Compensation Insurance Exemption

Florida Law requires Workers' Compensation insurance coverage under Chapter 440 of the Florida Statutes. Fla. Stat. § 440.05 allows corporate officers in the construction industry to exempt themselves from this requirement for any construction project prior to obtaining a building permit. Pursuant to the Florida Division of Workers' Compensation Employer Facts Brochure:

An employer in the construction industry who employs one or more part-time or full-time employees, including the owner, must obtain workers' compensation coverage. Corporate officers or members of a limited liability company (LLC) in the construction industry may elect to be exempt if:

- 1. The officer owns at least 10 percent of the stock of the corporation, or in the case of an LLC, a statement attesting to the minimum 10 percent ownership;
- 2. The officer is listed as an officer of the corporation in the records of the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; and
- 3. The corporation is registered and listed as active with the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations.

No more than three corporate officers per corporation or limited liability company members are allowed to be exempt. Construction exemptions are valid for a period of two years or until a voluntary revocation is filed or the exemption is revoked by the Division.

Your contractor:	is requesting a permit under this workers'
compensation exemption and has acknowledge subcontractors for your project. The contractor had person allowed to work on your project. In these	e that he or she will not use day labor, part-time employees or as provided an affidavit stating that he or she will be the only circumstances, Miami Shores Village does not require
time employees or subcontractors.	coverage from the contractor's company for day labor, part- DU HAVE READ THIS NOTICE AND UNDERSTAND ITS CONTENTS.
Signature:	Address:
Owner	
State of Florida	
County of Miami-Dade	
The foregoing was acknowledge before me this _	day of , 20
By wh	no is personally known to me or has produced
as identific	cation.
Notary:	
SEAL.	

COMPANY LETTER HEAD

Date:	
State of	
County of	
Before me this day personally appeared	who, being duly sworn,
deposes and says:	
That he or she will be the only person worki	ing on the project located at:
Contractor Signature	
.g.	
Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before	re me this day of 20,
by	. <u></u> 20
	Personally know
	OR Produced Identification
	Type of Identification Produced
	Print, Type or Stamp Name of Notary